Media is on my mind

So today I Googled… 

Have you ever googled your name? If you haven’t give it a try. What I found is that a lot of people named Brett McMillan popped up and none of them were me. Why should minor league baseball players, Nascar radio analyst, and Bank of America employees be the ones who find themselves at the top of the Google pecking order? This is a free country so there isn’t anything that says former UCLA second baseman Brett McMillan has to be more important than Lindenwood student Brett McMillan. Do you know what the former Bruin middle infielder has that I don’t? Simple: brand management. The nice people at www.baseballreference.com were nice enough to help out my bat wielding alter ego, but that doesn’t give me an excuse. Time to make a conscious effort to promote myself. It isn’t a vanity thing, but rather a business decision. Hey, maybe it is working, at least a little bit. After all you are reading this blog. 

Sports, Sports, Sports

I don’t know everything there is to know but I do know at least two things. One, I really like sports. Always have and I’m guessing I always will. There is just something about competition in athletics that I’ve never seen recreated in any other competitive setting. I can’t say with authority I know exactly what it is yet but over the last twenty years I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about it and think it might have something to do with community. People like rooting for teams that represent their city, state, university etc. I love that. People should be proud of the places that help shape them.

Now that you know how I feel you probably won’t be surprised to hear thing two which is this: I would love to have a career in sports. What a blessing that would be. What do I want to do? Well, in a perfect world I would broadcast baseball, but having any kind of job in sports would be a blessing. 

The last few summers I have been an intern at 590 The Fan KFNS on The Pressbox with Martin Kilcoyne and Frank Cusumano. They are both really talented and have taught me so much. They can be heard everyday in St. Louis from 10 a.m to 1 p.m. You can also catch their podcast online at www.kfns.com. I’ve met a lot of cool people while working at KFNS. Maybe we can talk more about that in a later post. Stay posted. (See what I did there.) 

I don’t usually like to discuss my personal life on the internet but I feel it might be time to change that. For more on that keep reading please.

Is this the Facebook?

I usually don’t like sharing information that I deem private, even on social media sites. That doesn’t mean I don’t like sharing my opinions on the internet. It means I don’t like sharing my private feelings about my own future on the web. That being said it probably is good for me to get used to doing so which means this blog is already doing me some good. 

All the stuff inside

Even though I’m a little shy when you first meet me (I do open up after a while) people still seem open to talking to me which is good news if you’re Brett. They especially like to ask me questions about sports once they find out my interest and what I’m studying. I’m not a genius and as I stated earlier I do not have all the answers but when it comes to sports I do like sharing what I think. Getting your thoughts out there can be kind of fun.

In closing

There is one final piece of the puzzle I probably need to snap into place if I’m going to give a true picture of who I am. First, I love my family a lot. There are three other people in my family. Three and a half if you count the cat and if he could talk he would definitely let you know he thinks he should count. Baxter aside, the human beings in my family are my father Scott, mother Sandy, and sister Brooke. I really can’t get enough of any of them. While I enjoy forging my own path and living on my own nine months out of the year being away from them is a bummer too.

Most importantly, faith is a huge part of my life. I’ve been a Christian since I was seven and it is the best decision I ever will make. I think everyone should make their own choices about faith so I won’t talk you ear off but if you ever want to hear why I’m so excited about it tweet at me (@BrettMcMillan1) and it would make my day.

Well now you know me. Ok, you know some things about me. Maybe more later.

Thanks for reading.

About brettmcmillan

Believer. Broadcaster. Story Teller.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Brett!
    I really enjoyed reading this actually. You do a good job at keeping a reader’s attention, and I think you have a good flow with your writing.

  2. GREAT WRITING! So easy to read. I understand that both statements are expected of every blog, but you knowledge of the subject and how you wish to become the person you are capable of being interested me; enough to where i would enjoy to read more of your blogs as they come!

  3. I concur with Heather and Erica; you write well, and I’m sure you’ll enlighten me with interesting sports stories in the future.

Leave a Reply

