LUTV Blog Log 2

It’s Busy

Photo by Brett McMillanThe view from the anchor desk 10 minutes before the Sibley Day newscast.

Photo by Brett McMillan
The view from the anchor desk 10 minutes before the Sibley Day newscast.

Super Semester and LUTV have certainly kept me busy the last few weeks. I enjoy the routine of Super Semester. I spend a lot of time at the studio. That is welcomed. It is nice to be in one place most of the day. I’ve now had a chance to do every job the Super Semester entails. All of them are fun. I’m learning a lot. I’ve been shown there are certain things I can do better at. The good news is, there will be lots of chances to tighten up those skills.

VOSOTs

I shot and wrote my first VOSOT (voice over sound on tape) since my last reporter blog. I have had a lot of fun doing these. I’m still trying to get the art of framing a subject properly. It is not easy to do when you don’t have a shooter. I have only shot two of them, so I know that it won’t be perfect yet. However, I believe it will get there.

Even though I still want to improve framing there have been lots of positives to consider too. One such thing is B-roll. I don’t know why, but I really like shooting B-roll. Getting the shot you want is really exciting. It is kind of like you are hunting. Once you final get you subject it feels good. I did a VOSOT on the Ash Wednesday mass put on by the Lindenwood University Catholic Student Union. That had lots of interesting things to shoot. It was neat to shoot and learn.

Another pleasing facet of that shoot was that my camera was not working properly at first, but I was able to figure out how to fix it. There was a tripod issue. I had to keep adjusting it. There was also a zoom issue. It would have been really hard to get good B-roll if it would not have been resolved.

The lighting in the chapel where the mass was held was exceptionally inconsistent. That gave me an excellent opportunity to work on using iris and white balance.

Package

I shot my first package since the last time I filed a reporter blog as well. I was pleased with the way it went for the most part. I was able to get most of the sources I wanted, and was satisfied with the shots in general. I didn’t have a shooter for my package. Shooting and reporting alone was a really good experience. Framing a live tease, stand-up, and interview made me focus intensely. I feel a lot more comfortable with a camera, because I have had that experience. Before shooting the package I wasn’t uncomfortable, but now I am more comfortable.

Producing

Every time producing is a work in process. The second time around was more relaxed in some ways. I am looking forward to trying to do a better job of presenting the director with a rundown that is easy to use. I want to become more comfortable with graphics and teases specifically.

About brettmcmillan

Believer. Broadcaster. Story Teller.

Posted on February 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hi there! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website such as yours take a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to operating a blog however I do write in my journal every day. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and thoughts online.

    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog
    owners. Appreciate it!

    • The wonderful thing about WordPress is that it is so user friendly! You can often spend lots of time trying different things or tweeking your site, but no coding knowledge is necessary. Googling questions is also a great way to get quick answers. If you want to do something often that is the quickest way to learn about it.

      Do you have a blog already?

  2. This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!
    ! Finally I have found something which helped me. Kudos!

  3. It’s truly very difficult in this busy life to listen news on Television, thus I just use web for that reason, and take the hottest news.

  4. I have read so many posts on the topic of the
    blogger lovers except this paragraph is genuinely a good paragraph, keep it up.

  5. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done
    a amazing job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super quick for me
    on Safari. Exceptional Blog!

Leave a Reply

